On CN, students can still access a course after its end date, expiration date (i.e., personal course past due), and completion deadline (i.e. applies to Pathway courses only).
If you need to stop students from accessing a course completely, you need to disable the course. Both CN Channel admins and course instructors can disable a course.
Admins of CN Channels Disable a Course
From CN Channel>>Course Management, admins can find a toggle icon under the Controls column. Hovering over the blue toggle icon, a black tooltip pops up, stating that the course is currently enabled and you can click it to disable it.
After clicking the blue toggle icon, a confirmation message shows up. Click "Disable" will confirm the action.
Note that after a course is disabled, instructors can still access it.
After a course is disabled, students and non-course members see this message when they visit the course.
The disabled course toggle icon looks like this. CN Channel admins may click it anytime to re-enable the course.
Instructors Disable a Course
Individual instructors may disable a course from the Basic Course Settings. The "Disable course access" link is located at the bottom of the page. After it is clicked, the same confirmation message will pop up.
Instructors may re-enable the course anytime from the same place.