How do I delete my account?
We're sorry to see you go! In order to delete your CN account, please email email@example.com and request account deletion. If you are a member of a licensed CN institution, we may need to get your institution's permission first.
What happens when an account is deleted?
Upon request, accounts will be deleted immediately from the CN system, along with all of the created content, uploads, profile image, etc. associated with the account. The following will be removed: the ePortfolio, any posts made by the user, any endorsements given, etc. Deleted accounts do not appear in searches on CN or in the course or network rosters, and the URL of deleted accounts no longer work.
Few things will remain once an account is deleted:
- Reflections made on others' posts
Reflections on others' posts will remain, but the deleted users' name, image, and ePortfolio URL will all be removed. So, it appears like an anonymous comment.
- Badges awarded to others
Badges given by a deleted badge issuer still remain on the recipients' ePortfolios, however, the badge issuer name, image, and ePortfolio URL are removed completely.
- Recommendations given to others
Recommendations given prior to deletion are shown on others' ePortfolios. The name of the deleted user will remain, along with their recommendation. Their image will be removed and they will be labeled "Non-CN Member."
Do deleted users still receive email notifications or CN emails?
CN schedules or queues emails when there are a large number of emails waiting to be sent out. Emails scheduled prior to an account deletion will still be sent to the deleted user. Afterward, no other CN emails or notifications will be sent to the deleted user.